2016 Primary Election Results

election graphic

San Jacinto County voters headed to the polls on Tuesday and the counts are in. Don’t forget that these results are provisional, and potential changes are subject to recounts. To win the primary in Texas, the candidate has to poll over 50 percent of the vote, regardless of how many votes are received.

There were a a few closely watched races in San Jacinto County, specifically in Precincts 1 and 3 County Commissioners race. In Precinct 1 Laddie McAnally narrowly taking 46.67 percent of the votes, polling 532 votes, to Ray McCoppin with 455 votes and Jerry Stephens with 153 votes. Precinct 3 race has Thomas Bonds taking 55.13 percent of the votes polling 639 votes, David Brandon with 273 votes and Roger Bishop with 247 votes.

The US Representative District 8 ballot carried four candidates with Kevin Brady coming in with 65.25 percent or 2,813 votes.

The State Representative District 18 ballot had six candidates. Ernest Bailes came in with 50.37 percent or 2130 votes.

For President the choice for San Jacinto County is Ted Cruz with 48.95 percent of the vote or 2,333 votes on the Republican ballot.

Hillary Clinton is the Democratic choice for the county with 72.02 percent of the vote or 561 votes.

No other local races were contested at the county level. The Constable Precinct 4 position will be on the November ballot with Haney

Wilkerson as the Republican candidate and Alvin Wyatt as the Democratic candidate.